MVMA Executive Board MVMA Advisory Committee
MVMA Staff Leadership Resources

MVMA's Advisory Committee is the association's advisory body and comprises the chairs of each of the standing and temporary committees and representatives from each of the local veterinary medical associations in Massachusetts. Committee chairs are appointed by the president and serve contemporaneous terms. All committee chairs are members of the association and volunteer their time and energy for the benefit of members, the association, and the profession.

The Advisory Committee is listed in order of position, with the AVMA delegation first, followed by the committee chairs (alphabetical by committee), and the local VMA representatives.

Click here to view the current MVMA-Affiliated Local Veterinary Medical Associations list.


MVMA Advisory Committee
AVMA Delegate
Dr. Kathleen Reilly

Kathy Reilly, D.V.M., has been MVMA's Alternate Delegate since 2004. With Delegate John de Jong, D.V.M., Dr. Reilly represents MVMA in the American Veterinary Medical Association House of Delegates. She is a small animal practitioner at the Park Place Veterinary Hospital in Keene, NH.  She can be reached at 603-357-4049.

Currently, Dr. Reilly also serves as the MVMA's President-Elect.

Programming and Conference Committee
Dr. Adam Arzt

By virtue of his position as President-Elect, Dr. Arzt chairs the Programming and Conference Committee and is responsible for MVMA programming. Please see her listing on the Executive Board for contact information.

Animal Welfare Committee Chair
Dr. Lauren Atkins

Lauren Atkins, M.S., D.V.M., M.P.H., works at the Thomas J. O'Connor Animal Control and Adoption Center in Springfield, MA.

Continuing Education Accreditation Committee Chair
Dr. Alison R. Gaynor

Dr. Alison Gaynor is a board-certified specialist in Internal Medicine and Emergency and Critical Care. 

For information about receiving approval for planned CE programs, please visit the Continuing Education Accreditation Committee site and use the forms there.

Large Animal Committee Chair
Dr. Albert G. Andersen

Dr. Andersen is an equine and large animal practitioner. His practice is Albert G. Andersen, D.V.M. in Westwood, 781-255-5909.

Dr. Andersen's committee is currently focusing on equine care issues, especially in the context of proposed changes to rules governing use of veterinary technicians and as applied to ancillary professionals such as teeth floaters.

Membership Committee Chair
Dr. Richard Crowell

Legislative Committee Chair
Dr. Laurie Klein

Resolutions & Bylaws Committee
Dr. Gerald E. Pietsch

Dr. Pietsch practices small animal medicine at Anchor Animal Hospital, Inc. in North Dartmouth.  He can be reached at 508-996-3731.

Tufts Student Liaison Committee Chair
Dr. Cheryl Anne Blaze

Dr. Blaze is a board-certified specialist in Anesthesiology, and practices at Tufts Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine Foster Small Animal Hospital Anethesiology Department in North Grafton.  She is a mixed-animal practitioner and can be reached at 508-887-4249.

Berkshire County Veterinarians Representative
Dr. John Reynolds

Dr. Reynolds represents members from the western-most area of the state. Contact him at Pittsfield Veterinary Hospital in Pittsfield, 413-499-1580.

Cape Cod Veterinary Medical Association Representative
Dr. Lauren C. Velez-Collazo

Dr. Velez-Collazo represents Cape Cod veterinarians on the Steering Committee. Contact her at Veterinary Associates of Cape Cod in South Yarmouth, 508-394-3566.

MetroWest Veterinary Medical Association Representative
Dr. Richard Crowell

Richard Crowell, D.V.M., is a small animal practitioner and owner of Medfield Veterinary Clinic, 508-359-1920.

South Shore Veterinary Association Representatives
Dr. Patricia C. Walters & Dr. Alan Glazer

Dr. Walters, board-certified in Internal Medicine and Emergency & Critical Care, and Dr. Glazer, board-certified in Internal Medicine, both work at New England Animal Medical Center in West Bridgewater. Call Dr. Walters at 508-587-2700 and Dr. Glazer at 508-580-2515.

Western Massachusetts Veterinary Medical Association Representative
Dr. Robert S. Shurtleff

Bob Shurtleff, D.V.M., owns and practices at the Eastfield Hospital for Animals in Wilbraham, 413-543-2772. He represents members in western Massachusetts - generally between Worcester and the Berkshires - on the Steering Committee.

Veterinary Association of the North Shore
Dr. Julie Haller

Co-Editor, Newsletter
Dr. Mary Labato

Co-Editor, Newsletter
Dr. Ann Marie Manning

Veterinary Technician Committee Chair
Dr. Timothy Smith